Day One: Not too shabby

Day one of the whole30 went rather well.  I started the morning with two eggs,  pumpkin,  and a little coconut oil.  Lunch contained homemade chicken salad on a bed of spinach and a banana. I got a little hungry in the late afternoon,  so I think I need to pack a little more for lunch. I was able to walk past the birthday cake in the break room, so I consider it a success.

Since I was able to leave work in time to make it to kettle bell class, dinner was an immediate when I got home.  (If you haven’t looked in to kettle bells,  you should. It is an awesome workout.)

Dinner was definitely the highlight of the day.  I made skillet chicken and balsamic Brussels sprouts for one.  I made the whole pack of thighs, so lunches will be a little easier this week. 

Now, let me tell you about these sprouts. Some people turn their noses up at Brussels sprouts, but I don’t get it.  I blame it on our parents boiling or steaming every veggie in sight. Here is my favorite way to prepare this underrated veggie:

Balsamic Brussels Sprouts (serves four)

Ingredients

One pound Brussels sprouts,  trimmed and halved
One cup mushrooms,  sliced
2 Tbsp olive oil
Salt and pepper to taste
1-2 Tbsp Balsamic vinegar (splurge for the good stuff)

Directions

Preheat to 400

Place the sprouts and mushrooms on a baking sheet. Drizzle with olive oil and toss. Salt and pepper.

image

Put in the oven for 30 minutes.  You want the veggies to be browned.

Place in a bowl.  Drizzle with Balsamic and toss. 

You will never turn your nose up again!

image

Leave a Reply

